Day 4 – Plyometrics

I’m getting hit by delayed onset muscle soreness (DOMS) today. All of the muscle groups I worked yesterday are now recovering from the beating they took yesterday. That’s my triceps, pectorals, lats, and my abs. My abs are probably the worst. That sixpackshortcuts guy Mike Chang knows what he’s doing.

In yesterday’s post I mentioned the need to develop explosive power, and that I hadn’t had a chance to work on the legs yet.

Well that happened today.

After an hour of jump training, in the form of the P90X Plyometrics video, I have completed what I think is the second hardest workout in the entire p90x canon – the top place being reserved for ‘Legs & Back’, which is just another level of savagery.

If you haven’t done this workout before, it’s the hardest cardiovascular workout of the original series. It’s also the workout you need to develop the ability to jump powerfully, and land in a stable and controlled manner.

image

Just the calorie burn alone should be an indication of the effort required to do this workout. It was a brutal reminder of a day when my brother in law Travis and I did the same workout, and neither of us could walk down a flight of stairs without holding the rail. Today I had to pull myself up the stairs afterwards because just like then, my legs wouldn’t carry me anymore. I’m fairly certain I’m going to be walking around very sore tomorrow afternoon.

Still, I needed this today. Working out at lunchtime is a perfect way to break up the workday. I like my job but, it’s nice to have a complete diversion like this.

I’ve still got some muscles that aren’t sore yet, like my shoulders and biceps. That’s about to all change tomorrow. 

Leave a Reply

